Cao Dai Temple and Cu Chi Tunnels

Cao Dai Temple

Cao Dai Temple

During my last weekend in Vietnam, my friend’s parents were visiting, so we took a day trip a little bit outside of the city.  Our first stop was the Cao Dai Temple in Tay Ninh (close to where I went hiking and broke my arm earlier this year).  Cao Daoism is one of the most unique religions I’ve ever heard of.  Cao Daoism combines the ideas from many different religions:  Taoism, Confucianism, Buddhism, and Roman Catholicism.

Portrait of Major Cao Dai Saints

Portrait of Major Cao Dai Saints

The most interesting thing about this religion is their choice of saints… Victor Hugo (the French writer), Nguyen Binh Khiem (a Vietnamese poet), and Sun Yat-Sen (a Chinese revolutionary) are the major figures in the religion.

Cao Dai Service

Cao Dai Service

We arrived in time for a service, so it was interesting to see the monks chanting for a while.  Definitely a bit different than any other religions I’ve ever heard about…

Furthest I got into the tunnels

Furthest I got into the tunnels

Our next stop was to the Cu Chi Tunnels – a network of verrry small (but long) underground tunnels which connect much of Vietnam.  The tunnels were used during the war to help the Viet Cong move throughout the country undetected by foreign soldiers.  The tunnels were credited with greatly helping with the Vietnamese’s success in the war – they had entire hospitals and living quarters underground.

In the sniper hole

In the sniper hole

We were really lucky to have  a tour guide with a very interesting perspective: he was Vietnamese/Philippino and served the US navy during the Vietnam war.  It was super interesting to hear information about the tunnels from a personal perspective.  The actual tunnels weren’t really my thing – they’re suuuuuper tiny – but I did go in one of the Viet Cong sniper holes.  During the war, the Viet Cong would hide in the holes and be able to fight nearly entirely below ground.

Big snail at the tunnels

Big snail at the tunnels

It was really great to see a little bit more of Vietnam before I leave for over a month!!

One comment

  1. Kathleen Womack (Kathy Dillon) · · Reply

    Oh Erin, What a life you are leading!!!! THIS BLOG WAS MY MOST FAVORITE. Such interesting facts that I would’ve NEVER heard of. Victor Hugo????? Fascinating!!! Could I please ask a favor ( in your “spare time” – I KNOW ha ha) but I would love if you could spell-out some of these places phonetically – so I can pronounce them properly. Just received a lovely card from your grandmother, my Aunt Belle, this afternoon. She is SUCH the character and I love her very much. Hope your time off includes a trip to Long Island!!!! God Bless You and keep you safe in all of your wonderful travels!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment