My Job!

Dr. Seuss Reading Day

Dr. Seuss Reading Day

Some people have mentioned that they are curious about the work I do in Vietnam.  I am the Special Education Coordinator at my school, this means that I’ve spent the last year creating and developing a Special Education program.  I work at two campuses, grades PreK – Twelfth Grade.

Teaching Grade One Students about Self Regulation

Teaching Grade One Students about Self Regulation

Since resources are pretty limited, I’ve focused on doing a lot of school wide programming.  The idea being that if teachers are more informed and have a better understanding of different learning styles and needs, and students are more explicitly taught coping skills within the classroom less intervention outside the classroom is needed.

High School/Elementary School Mentoring Program

High School/Elementary School Mentoring Program

I’ve also been involved in working on additional programming at my school – like my big project of the year, Anti-Bully Week!  Three days of Anti-Bully week were lessons in the classrooms on: “What is Bully?”; “Impact of Bullying” and “What to do when you are bullied.”

Peace Walk

Peace Walk

The other two days of the week, I tried to organize some fun events, to get the students excited about committing to making our school bully free.  For my high school students, I organized an “Peace Walk” – the students walked around the school with anti-bully pledges and posters, chanting anti-bully slogans.

Elementary School Picture

Elementary School Picture

My elementary students all signed a school-wide anti-bully pledge and took a school picture pledging to be “Peace Makers”.

Signing Anti-Bully Pledge

Signing Anti-Bully Pledge

On Friday we had a school-wide anti-bullying pep rally.  We had teacher skits, student performances, and some great teacher demonstrations.

I’ve gotten some great opportunities to take on a lot of responsibility teaching in Vietnam.  And… the kids are completely incredible – they are so sweet and well behaved, but still have really awesome and unique personalities.  While it can get really frustrating, it’s such a valuable experience teaching here.

In my classroom!

In my classroom!

7 comments

  1. dillkat@aol.com · · Reply

    Thank you Erin – so happy to hear all of your adventures. Will talk to ya one day in person. I was a teacher’s aide in a local Catholic school here in Las Vegas for the past eleven years and retired last year. We had Pre-K to 8th and that was hard enough! Can’t imagine doing 1st thru High School as a Special Ed Coordinator. I salute you Stay safe, continued adventures, and God Bless. xoxoxox Happy Belated St. Paddy’s Day – Four of my five brothers and my 82 year-old mother ( “ONE” of your Aunt Graces) marched in the parade? oiy Your Vegas cousins, Paul and Kathy (Dillon)

  2. mary power · · Reply

    Wow! Love your work Erin, so proud of you! LOVE the Video!!!!!!!

  3. Wow Erin. You should be proud of all the great work that you are doing. Keep up the fantastic work! We can’t wait to see you again in a few months! Love you tons! Love Dad and the gang.

  4. Lance Oslinker · · Reply

    Erin you are a great ambassador for your generation. Let’s hope the givers outnumber the takers. Dad’s friend-Lance

  5. Dear Erin…I am so impressed!! Love the pictures of you with your students..and how cute they are! Keep your blogs coming..I love them. Happy Easter (we will miss you, but you will be with us in spirit. Love you, Nanny xxxooo

  6. Sounds like you are really enjoying your work&that you are a great teacher!
    Mary D would love to meet you and share your experiences. She is setting up Special Needs Programmes for a range of Needs in the new University in Makeni Sierra Leone . She is Director of St Joseph’ s School for Hearing Impaired.
    Must be in our genes! Keep enjoying! Moira is enjoying Galway. Now travelling Europe on Spring break. Good for her!
    Happy Easter!
    Madeline

  7. Terry Oslinker · · Reply

    I so look forward to your wonderful emails You could easily be a photographer or writer but the smile on you face when you are with the children tells me that is your real passion. You are one remarkable young woman.

Leave a comment