Phu Quoc

Beach in Phu Quoc!

Beach in Phu Quoc!

Phu Quoc is an island in the Gulf of Thailand, right off the coast of Cambodia… which is somehow part of Vietnam.  The island is stunning – it’s mountainous and highly under developed in the the center of the island, and it’s surrounded by white sand beaches.  I really wanted to make it Phu Quoc before rainy season began – so I was really excited to have the opportunity to visit during my three day weekend for the King Hung festival (a Vietnamese national holiday celebrating the death anniversary of the Hung kings).

I couldn't make myself leave the beach!

I couldn’t make myself leave the beach!

Before I went to Phu Quoc I did some research and came up with a big list of things to do while I was there: hiking to waterfalls, going to a night market, visiting a pearl farm.  I ended up being so taken in by the beach that I couldn’t make myself do anything but lying on the beach, going for a few walks along the water, and swimming (which is good… because I have more to do next time!)

Crabs!

Crabs!

I didn’t even have to leave the beach to eat – there was a huge range of restaurants right on the water (from Vietnamese to upscale Western and French restaurants).  My favorite meal was awesome fresh crabs and oysters at a little Vietnamese place on the water.

Ocean at Sunset

Ocean at Sunset

The beaches were really beautiful -and the scenery was really impressive.  One way, you saw the Pacific Ocean go on forever, and in another direction you could see the mountains of the Cambodian coast.  The water wasn’t as insanely clean and clear as it the ocean in Bali.  During the day the beach was gorgeous, but early in the morning I noticed workers on the beach combing it clear of garbage.  Although it’s addressed and cleaned on Phu Quoc, it’s sad seeing how pollution can damage such a fantastic place.

It looks nice and adventorous from the outside... but on the inside... it was hooorribbbleeee

It looks nice and adventorous from the outside… but on the inside… it was hooorribbbleeee

There’s tons of accommodation right on the beach in Phu Quoc – unfortunately, I completely struck out with my first choice.  I stayed at a bungalow at the Moon Resort on Long Beach.  When I arrived, I noticed it was a lot more “rustic” than I anticipated (it essentially was a beach shed with a bed in the middle – the walls didn’t even connect with the roof at all places).  But, I figured that I’m not too picky, and I was only going to sleep in the bungalow, so it should be fine.  I had a nice day, using the beach in front of the hotel and relaxing… but night time wasn’t quite as fun.

While probably one of the most unlikely of options for my night time visitor... clearly the most horrifying

While probably one of the most unlikely of options for my night time visitor… clearly the most horrifying

I woke up feeling a little disoriented around 1:00 AM, and a few minutes later I heard something moving in my room.  I couldn’t see what anything  because a mosquito net was covering the bed, but I heard a really strange and loud noise – definitely from an animal, but not like anything I had heard before (or at least had heard in the context of inside a hotel room).  I screamed a little bit, and then the animal made a louder noise.  I had no idea on what I was supposed to do, so I just laid there – freaking out until the sun came up (the thought being this was a nocturnal animal).  I packed up my things, and I was out of there in less than five minutes.  I have no idea what type of animal was in my room – but one of my coworkers kindly shared this link of the animal life on Phu Quoc.

Upgrade!

Upgrade!

I was a lot more successful with my second choice – for just $5 a night more (a little under $25 a night), I stayed in a nice little cabin a bit further up Long Beach (with fancy things like floor to ceiling walls) at a place called Phuong Binh.  The staff was super friendly, the room was spacious and clean (I even had a great wifi signal!) – the experience was soooo much better.  If I can make it back to Phu Quoc, I would definitely stay there again.

Beautiful Phu Quoc!

Beautiful Phu Quoc!

I really loved Phu Quoc – living in Asia can be really hard at times – but, it feels a whole lot easier when you can spend a long weekend on a tropical island.

Great weekend!

Great weekend!

9 comments

  1. Maryanne Kerwick · · Reply

    A little scream? The whole island would have heard me!!!! 🙂 Clearly the most terrifying is right….but the beaches were great looking….glad you had fun!

  2. so happy you survived the animal and night terror! the second place looks great and so do the beaches!

    1. I know! The beaches are so pretty here Mom – you and Dad would love it!

  3. Wow that is quite the crazy adventure – so glad that you found a better room- stay clear of a room with a view that has optional visitors like monkeys- yikes- beach looks awesome – so glad that you had a great relaxing time! Love Dad

  4. Kathleen Womack (Kathy Dillon) · · Reply

    Even tho you said that was thee most “unlikely” creature that got in the room – my question is – WHAT WAS THAT THING anyway????????????? SUCH ADVENTURES you are having. I just LOVE reading these blogs. I guess since you could NOT drag yourself away from the beach that we ” really are” cousins. xoxoxoxoxox k wo (Kathy Dillon – Deer Park cousin)

    1. I’m not sure! It’s from the website my co-worker sent me – in Vietnamese its called Chua nhap. I think it’s some kind of mole or something.

      I feel sooo spoiled with having year round beaches and pool days here – I think that will be the hardest thing to transition back from when I leave next year!

  5. This is really fascinating, You’re a very professional blogger. I have joined your feed and look ahead to looking for more of your great post. Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks

  6. You were soooooooo brave to stay with that animal overnight! It reminds me so much of Sierra Leone, so beautiful & undeveloped. Great that you get to wonderful places like this to unwind & make living in Vietman a little easier. I’m sure you really miss home.
    The love of the water & beaches must come from your Donegal ancestors! My sisters all love the coast too

    1. More like too scared to do anything else! I’d love to make it to the Donegal coast one day!

Leave a comment